Support & Community Forum
Get answers from our staff and other members of the XSplit community!

Having trouble streaming dota 2, screen flicker

(All non-version 1 threads must be posted here)
Forum rules 1. Please check the Forum Guidelines first before posting. Threads that do not comply with our guidelines will not be replied to by the staff.
2. Consult the FAQ.
3. Always post your hardware and internet specs before you post.

Having trouble streaming dota 2, screen flicker

by TheTrickster » Thu Nov 24, 2011 4:32 am

so im new to streaming and im trying to stream dota 2. but whenever i do, i get a strange screen flicker. the whole screen doesnt flicker, just random parts of the game flicker.

its weird cause it doesnt do it when xsplit isnt running on my computer at all. but once i start up xsplit (even without starting the stream), it will flicker.

besides that the stream seems to work great, so any ideas?
TheTrickster
XSplit User

Re: Having trouble streaming dota 2, screen flicker

by Melvin » Thu Nov 24, 2011 12:36 pm

what's your computer specs? ucp.php?i=173

your streaming settings is usually dependent on your rig and bandwidth so you basically need to adjust it based on how those two can handle it.

So does the stream flicker as well or just the game? I'm assuming your streaming your game in windowed (exclusive mode disabled) since you said it seemed to work great.

Lastly, make sure to right click your screen region and then make sure that the layered window option is not checked.
Melvin
Forum Administrator
CPU: i7-2600k
RAM: 8gb
Graphics Card: Intel HD Graphics
Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Capture Card: None

by TheTrickster » Thu Nov 24, 2011 5:50 pm

thanks for the response, here are my specs

Intel i7 950
Radeon 5870
6GB ram
Windows 7 64bit

pretty sure that's all you need to know as far as specs go. and as far as bandwidth go, idk. i dont even know what bandwidth does lol.