Support & Community Forum
Get answers from our staff and other members of the XSplit community!

[BUG]Windows 8 and the Title plugin

Report bugs and defects that you might have encountered with Broadcaster.
Forum rules Reporting a bug? Kindly read the following first:
1. Check the Release Notes (Known Issues) first to make sure you're not reporting something we already know.
2. Consult the FAQ and do a quick forum search about the issue.
3. Post your hardware and internet specs in your profile before creating a thread.

[BUG]Windows 8 and the Title plugin

by blamauci » Jul 02, 2012

Dear Xsplit community. I just tried to set a title in Xsplit while in Windows8 RP(x64)

But when I try to do it the Title Plugin Settings screen just freezes and I can't do anything in it.

I looked a bit into this and it seems that Microsoft is shipping a heavily crippled version off Adobe Flash Player 11.2 with it's IE10 off Windows 8.

When I try to remedy this by installing the(Retail) version off 11.2 flash I get a error.http://puu.sh/Fpi6

So That's when I tried to manually download Adobe Flash Player thinking that would be the case.
It gives me another error telling me I already have Adobe Flash 11.2 Windows 8 release bla bla bla.

I know it's not your fault for Microsoft shipping this version off flash but I do think its something that could be addressed quite easily.

If you need more info I am happy to provide it.
blamauci
XSplit User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 2:48 pm
Location: Netherlands
CPU: AMD X4 B50(Unlocked X2 550) @ 3.8GHZ
RAM: 12 GB Team Elite 1333 DDR3
Graphics Card: GTX260 MSI lightning
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 and Windows 8 RP x64
Internet Connection: 30MB/4MB

Re: [BUG]Windows 8 and the Title plugin

by eholten » Jul 03, 2012

Yea, I was just about to post this. The Consumer Preview works fine, but like you said, the RP have Flash integrated into IE10.

edit: This does in fact affect all configure windows, not just the title field.
eholten
XSplit User
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 3:06 pm

Re: [BUG]Windows 8 and the Title plugin

by MSgtGunny » Jul 04, 2012

To my knowledge we currently don't support windows 8.
Where you can follow me:
ImageImageImage
MSgtGunny
Gunny Badge
Posts: 1890
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 3:40 am
CPU: Core i7 920 C0/C1 stepping
RAM: 18 gb ddr3 running at 1333mhz, 7-7-7-20
Graphics Card: 1 GTX 560 Ti
Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Capture Card: Blackmagic Intensity Pro
Internet Connection: FiOS at home, T3 line at school

Re: [BUG]Windows 8 and the Title plugin

by blamauci » Jul 04, 2012

msgtgunny wrote:To my knowledge we currently don't support windows 8.


No you don't support it now but you are looking for a focus group for testing on windows 8. meanwhile I have found this issue and I like to report it.

Lot's off people are going to install the RP of windows 8 just to try it out.
And they can get the same bug as me which forced me to go back to windows 7.

Maybe you guys could make a small FAQ with already known issues for windows 8.

It would help the focus group too.
blamauci
XSplit User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 2:48 pm
Location: Netherlands
CPU: AMD X4 B50(Unlocked X2 550) @ 3.8GHZ
RAM: 12 GB Team Elite 1333 DDR3
Graphics Card: GTX260 MSI lightning
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 and Windows 8 RP x64
Internet Connection: 30MB/4MB

Re: [BUG]Windows 8 and the Title plugin

by eholten » Jul 04, 2012

msgtgunny wrote:To my knowledge we currently don't support windows 8.

Windows 8 will be available within 2-3 months. Would be wise to look into it before then :)
eholten
XSplit User
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 3:06 pm

Re: [BUG]Windows 8 and the Title plugin

by blamauci » Jul 04, 2012

eholten wrote:
msgtgunny wrote:To my knowledge we currently don't support windows 8.

Windows 8 will be available within 2-3 months. Would be wise to look into it before then :)


I agree. Sure it's not released right now and windows 8 is subject to change. but seeing its an RC(Release Preview is just a flashy name for Release Candidate) and the history off microsoft and RC's not much is going to change right now.

Would be wise to get the focus group started real quick and using all already submitted bugs to the fullest.
blamauci
XSplit User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 2:48 pm
Location: Netherlands
CPU: AMD X4 B50(Unlocked X2 550) @ 3.8GHZ
RAM: 12 GB Team Elite 1333 DDR3
Graphics Card: GTX260 MSI lightning
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 and Windows 8 RP x64
Internet Connection: 30MB/4MB

Re: [BUG]Windows 8 and the Title plugin

by MSgtGunny » Jul 05, 2012

if so far the only bug is that the plugins aren't working than thats an issue with internet explorer flash in windows 8, they probably changed the location of it so its not working properly.
Where you can follow me:
ImageImageImage
MSgtGunny
Gunny Badge
Posts: 1890
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 3:40 am
CPU: Core i7 920 C0/C1 stepping
RAM: 18 gb ddr3 running at 1333mhz, 7-7-7-20
Graphics Card: 1 GTX 560 Ti
Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Capture Card: Blackmagic Intensity Pro
Internet Connection: FiOS at home, T3 line at school