Support & Community Forum
Get answers from our staff and other members of the XSplit community!

Xsplit video encoding preset problem

Ask for general help about Broadcaster.
Forum rules 1. Consult the FAQ and do a quick forum search first.
2. Post your hardware and internet specs in your profile before creating a thread.

Xsplit video encoding preset problem

by SuRpriiZe » Sun Sep 23, 2012 11:46 pm

right when i stream with the neweset version of xsplit my stream laggs really bad evan tho my pc spec's are goo
4.2, ghz qaud core amd processor
2gb amd radeon 6680 gfx card
8gb ram

i found out in the setting for video encoding preset's i do not have the option for xsplit default so i install the xsplit before the newest version and i have it but with that client i do not have the ability to use a game source as i'm running 64-bit please help. also i have the personal license
SuRpriiZe
XSplit User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:44 pm
Location: Derby,England
CPU: AMD FX(tm)-4170 Quad-Core Processor 4.20GHz
RAM: 8GB
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6670 2GB
Operating System: Window's 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
Capture Card: Hauppauge HD PVR
Internet Connection: 30mb download/5mb upload UK Virgin Media Fibre opt

Re: Xsplit video encoding preset problem

by Augustine » Mon Sep 24, 2012 10:39 am

Hi SuRpriiZe,

Please try doing a complete uninstall of XSplit using Revo Uninstaller (use Advanced Mode and be sure remove all leftover files and registry keys) then install a fresh copy of XSplit (Right click installer and choose "Run as Administrator"). If you still experience the problem after completely uninstalling and reinstalling, please read on.

To give us a clearer picture of your setup and, please post your complete hardware and internet specs inside your profile (so that you won't have to keep reposting it) and tell us your complete streaming settings:
- Streaming Resolution (View > Resolution)
- Frame Rate (View > Frame rate)
- Channel Properties (Preset, Quality, VBV Max Bitrate, VBV Buffer, Resolution, Audio Encoding Format, Audio Bitrate and Codec)
- XSplit bandwidth test results (Click [Test bandwidth] then click View results and copy and paste the test results here)
- The name of the game you are trying to stream

Once you've done that, we'll give you suggestions to try.
Augustine
Support Staff
Posts: 5654
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:47 am
Location: The End of Time

Re: Xsplit video encoding preset problem

by SuRpriiZe » Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:11 am

Internet speed 30mb down 5mb up fibre optic uk
resolution 1280-720
frame rate 30.00fps
preset super fast(i have no option for xsplit default in the updated version)
quality 8
VBV max bitrate 2800
vbv buffer 2800
audio formate 44.100 khz 16bit stereo
bitrate 128000
codec AAC LC

bandwidth 2992 yellow
SuRpriiZe
XSplit User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:44 pm
Location: Derby,England
CPU: AMD FX(tm)-4170 Quad-Core Processor 4.20GHz
RAM: 8GB
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6670 2GB
Operating System: Window's 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
Capture Card: Hauppauge HD PVR
Internet Connection: 30mb download/5mb upload UK Virgin Media Fibre opt

Re: Xsplit video encoding preset problem

by Augustine » Mon Sep 24, 2012 1:56 pm

Okay, thank you for posting your streaming settings.

Please uninstall XSplit using Revo Uninstaller (click here to download it). And use Advanced Mode and remove all leftover files and registry keys.

Then download a copy of XSplit 1.1 (click here) and once it's finished downloading, right click on the installer and choose "Run as Administrator."

Once you've done that, please tell us if you still experience the problem.
Augustine
Support Staff
Posts: 5654
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:47 am
Location: The End of Time

Re: Xsplit video encoding preset problem

by SuRpriiZe » Mon Sep 24, 2012 4:36 pm

i have done this but there is still no xsplit default in my video encoding as if i use the old version there is and it runs smooth but you can use game source on 64bit on the old version also bandwith is know green
SuRpriiZe
XSplit User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:44 pm
Location: Derby,England
CPU: AMD FX(tm)-4170 Quad-Core Processor 4.20GHz
RAM: 8GB
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6670 2GB
Operating System: Window's 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
Capture Card: Hauppauge HD PVR
Internet Connection: 30mb download/5mb upload UK Virgin Media Fibre opt

Re: Xsplit video encoding preset problem

by SuRpriiZe » Mon Sep 24, 2012 4:38 pm

is there anyway i can contact you easier like skype ?
SuRpriiZe
XSplit User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:44 pm
Location: Derby,England
CPU: AMD FX(tm)-4170 Quad-Core Processor 4.20GHz
RAM: 8GB
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6670 2GB
Operating System: Window's 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
Capture Card: Hauppauge HD PVR
Internet Connection: 30mb download/5mb upload UK Virgin Media Fibre opt

Re: Xsplit video encoding preset problem

by Augustine » Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:09 am

Oops, I'm very sorry. I have been blind to what you've been saying. I read your problem as though ALL of your presets have disappeared. Big thanks to Sapiens for pointing this out. :-)

You won't find "XSplit Default" in XSplit 1.1 BUT the good news is it has not actually been removed because the "veryfast" preset is actually the same as "XSplit Default" (just under a different name). So, simply choose "veryfast" and you should have the same results. :-)
Augustine
Support Staff
Posts: 5654
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:47 am
Location: The End of Time

Re: Xsplit video encoding preset problem

by SuRpriiZe » Sun Sep 30, 2012 11:28 pm

i tried this it does not work also xsplit has start making my ingame fps drop by about 50-60 frames per second when i launch the programme and an extra 10 when i broadcast i have been told by many people that with my pc set up and broadband thats i shouldn't have any problem streaming
SuRpriiZe
XSplit User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:44 pm
Location: Derby,England
CPU: AMD FX(tm)-4170 Quad-Core Processor 4.20GHz
RAM: 8GB
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6670 2GB
Operating System: Window's 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
Capture Card: Hauppauge HD PVR
Internet Connection: 30mb download/5mb upload UK Virgin Media Fibre opt

Re: Xsplit video encoding preset problem

by Augustine » Mon Oct 01, 2012 6:33 am

Okay.

Let's take a look at your PC set up to see if your settings are optimal. Please post your hardware and internet specs inside your profile and we'll move forward from there. To get the complete name of your CPU, please try Speccy.
Augustine
Support Staff
Posts: 5654
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:47 am
Location: The End of Time

Re: Xsplit video encoding preset problem

by SuRpriiZe » Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:47 pm

I have complete filled in my spec's
SuRpriiZe
XSplit User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:44 pm
Location: Derby,England
CPU: AMD FX(tm)-4170 Quad-Core Processor 4.20GHz
RAM: 8GB
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6670 2GB
Operating System: Window's 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
Capture Card: Hauppauge HD PVR
Internet Connection: 30mb download/5mb upload UK Virgin Media Fibre opt

Re: Xsplit video encoding preset problem

by Augustine » Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:53 pm

Thank you for completely filling out your hardware and internet specs.

I checked the PassMark of AMD FX-4170 Quad-Core and found that it's at 4686, which is lower than what's required to stream in 1280 x 720 (You need a CPU with a PassMark of 5000+ to stream in this resolution). So, my first recommendation for you to improve performance would be to change your streaming resolution to 854 x 480, your VBV Max Bitrate and VBV Buffer both to 2000 and your Quality to 10 and your Preset to "veryfast."

Next, to further improve performance, please try the strategies below:

_Optimize Screen Capture_

0. Open Task Manager, click on the Processes Tab then look for "XSplit.Core.exe" and right click on it. In the menu that appears, choose "Set Affinity..." then check the boxes of 2 cores and uncheck the rest. Then look for your game and set it to use all other cores available except for the two that XSplit is using.
1. Turn off Aero (Easiest way to do is is to Right click on your Desktop then choose "Personalize" then choose a Non-Aero Theme (anything from the Basic and High Contrast Theme should do))
2. Resize the XSplit viewport to make it small and use less resources (View > Scale Viewport > Choose a % that will make it small)
3. Disable Game Source (Tools > General Settings... > General > Uncheck "Enable Game Source")
4. Disable Vsync (unless you experience screen tearing)
5. Set the game to Windowed Full Screen Mode
6. Close all programs you are not using (including your browser, if you're monitoring your stream on the same computer; See note in this FAQ entry)
7. Test your stream

_Optimize Game Source_

0. Open Task Manager, click on the Processes Tab then look for "XSplit.Core.exe" and right click on it. In the menu that appears, choose "Set Priority..." and then set XSplit to use the "High" or "Realtime" priority. Do this also for your game.
1. Enable Game Source (Tools > General Settings... > General > Check "Enable Game Source")
2. Enable Special Optimization (In XSplit, right click on your scene source, click on the Game Tab and check the box called "Enable special optimization")
3. Resize the XSplit viewport to make it small and use less resources (View > Scale Viewport > Choose a % that will make it small).
4. Enable Aero (Easiest way to do is is to Right click on your Desktop then choose "Personalize" then choose an Aero Theme)
5. Disable Vsync (unless you experience screen tearing)
6. Close all programs you are not using (including your browser, if you're monitoring your stream on the same computer; See note in this FAQ entry)
7. Test your stream

After you've tried all of them, please tell us if there was any improvement with regards to your FPS drops.
Augustine
Support Staff
Posts: 5654
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:47 am
Location: The End of Time

Re: Xsplit video encoding preset problem

by SuRpriiZe » Mon Oct 01, 2012 5:09 pm

i did all of this it worked for maybe all of 5min's then just lagged my pc up so bad i was getting ingame stutter when charp turning and the stream was also lagging
SuRpriiZe
XSplit User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:44 pm
Location: Derby,England
CPU: AMD FX(tm)-4170 Quad-Core Processor 4.20GHz
RAM: 8GB
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6670 2GB
Operating System: Window's 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
Capture Card: Hauppauge HD PVR
Internet Connection: 30mb download/5mb upload UK Virgin Media Fibre opt

Re: Xsplit video encoding preset problem

by Augustine » Tue Oct 02, 2012 5:27 am

SuRpriiZe wrote:i did all of this it worked for maybe all of 5min's then just lagged my pc up so bad i was getting ingame stutter when charp turning and the stream was also lagging


Okay, after you changed your settings to this:

View Resolution > 854 x 480
Channel Properties:
- VBV Max Bitrate = 2000
- VBV Buffer = 2000
- Quality = 10
- Preset = veryfast

Which optimization strategy did you try that lagged your PC? Was it Game Source or Screen Capture?
Augustine
Support Staff
Posts: 5654
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:47 am
Location: The End of Time

Re: Xsplit video encoding preset problem

by SuRpriiZe » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:57 pm

i tried both the result was the same
SuRpriiZe
XSplit User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:44 pm
Location: Derby,England
CPU: AMD FX(tm)-4170 Quad-Core Processor 4.20GHz
RAM: 8GB
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6670 2GB
Operating System: Window's 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
Capture Card: Hauppauge HD PVR
Internet Connection: 30mb download/5mb upload UK Virgin Media Fibre opt

Re: Xsplit video encoding preset problem

by Augustine » Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:20 am

That's kind of weird. Lowering your settings should not make your PC lag even worse (you said that after 5 mins, "it lagged my pc up so bad i was getting ingame stutter when charp turning and the stream was also lagging").

That leads me to think that maybe you've got something in your PC that's causing problems. Please try doing the following:

1. Remove unwanted programs that run at startup and consume resources in the background.

2. Clean up your registry, windows files and web browsers.

3. Do a malware scan to get rid of hidden destructive programs.

4. Download and install antivirus software or if you've already got one, download the latest updates and do a full system scan.

Please test your stream again after doing all that and tell us your results.
Augustine
Support Staff
Posts: 5654
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:47 am
Location: The End of Time